Pirates Destined For Memorable Season On Turf

The Elwood Football squad flirted with excellence this past season as they punished teams with a bruising rushing attack and also had success with an aerial attack that was the thing of beauty when clicking on all cylinders.

The Pirates have 12 letterwinners returning to the turf this season with previous experience of success.

Senior Zack Hackbart has been waiting for his Senior year to put it all together to reach the pinnacle. Hackbart passed for 311-yards and seven touchdowns while rushing for 586-yards on the ground and another six touchdowns. Hackbart has developed quite well during the offseason to battle through the grueling schedule that the Pirates have to battle. Defensively, Hackbart has a nose for the ball that can’t be coached or taught. Some people are just meant to excel on defense.
In limited attempts, Blake Tiede and Billie Smith prospered in the backfield fore the Elwood rushing attack this past season. Tiede and Smith both powered past the 300-yard mark with multiple rushing touchdowns to do their part on the offensive side of the ball.

Through the air, Skyler Werger, Tiede and Cole Remmenga all were credited with receiving yards and scores for the Pirates this past season. Werger ripped down five receptions for 136-yards during the regular season that included  a pair of touchdowns scored.

Defensively, Cole Remmenga was a force for the Pirates during the 2014 season. Remmenga had 60 total takles that included 18 unassisted takedowns.

Werger chipped in with 39 taklles. Along with Werger, Blake Tiede flirted with a mliestone mark.
Creating turnovers, Delton Ulmer recovered three fumbles and Zack Hackbart snared a pair of interceptions for Elwood during the previous 2013 season.

2014 Schedule
September 5    @ Southwest
September 12    @?Medicine Valley
September 19    ANSELMO-MERNA
September 26    @ Loomis
October 3        BERTRAND
October 10        @ SEM
October 17        ?@?Alma
October 24        KENESAW

Skyler Werger    12
Delton Ulmer    12
Zack Hackbart    12
Blake Tiede    12
Billie Smith    12
Cole Remmenga    12
Caleb Wilson    12
Adam Beam    12
Sean Clouse    12
Matt Rahjes    12
Keith Murphy    10
Kallen Nickell    10
Jon Anderson    10
Jake Gydesen    10
Kalyn Beam    10
Ben Bogle    10
Aaron Clouse    9
Caleb Werger    9
Kent Rae    9
Detric Kasson    9





MEMBERS?OF?THE Pirates gridiron squad for the upcoming 2014 season includes (front, from left) Caleb Wilson, Sean Clouse, Blake Tiede, Billie Smith, Skyler Werger, Cole Remmenga, Delton Ulmer, Zack Hackbart and Matt Rahjes. (Second row) Jake Gydesen, Keith Murphy, Kallen Nickell, Adam Beam, Ben Bogle, Jon Anderson, Kalyn Beam, and s.m. Max Elliott. (Third row) s.m. Tim Smith, s.m. Raul Clouse, Kent Rae, Caleb Werger, Aaron Clouse and s.m. Tyeln Hackbart. Not pictured: Detric Kasson, s.m. Carson Reiners and s.m. Ian Corder. (TRIBUNE-photo/Kelly Ninas)


Featured Businesses